The Seasonal Buffalo Chip

Halloween Cemetery

I was not planning to write a post about Halloween. No sir, no how. That topic is one buffalo chip I had no desire to step in. I still don’t. In fact, I have no intention of revealing my own stance on it. That is perhaps a post for another year if the Lord leads me to share. What I wish to address today isn’t really about the holiday at all. It is about our diverse reactions to it.

I have read several blog posts on this topic of late. To celebrate, or not to celebrate; that is the question is it not? Many have stated their opinions. Some present their case with eloquence, but more often it is with sarcasm and judgment. And even when the author doesn’t openly condemn their opponents on this matter, the readers’ comments inevitably end up flaying some poor person who dares to voice a differing opinion. Or dissenters make mocking statements worthy of the lowest internet troll. I find it most unbecoming. I either leave the article feeling sad and misunderstood, or embarrassed by those who are on the same side of the fence as me, yet present it with such venom.

I’ve been pondering this for some days. As I said, I had no intention of writing about this at all. But yesterday the Lord brought a passage to me and it hit me with all the subtlety of a lightning bolt.

I pray that they will all be one, just as you and I are one—as you are in me, Father, and I am in you. And may they be in us so that the world will believe you sent me.” (John 17:21, NLT)

Those words are a prayer, spoken by Jesus himself, for us today. He goes on to reiterate in verse 23:

…May they experience such perfect unity that the world will know that you sent me…”

Are you getting what I’m getting from this? The world will see the truth of who Jesus is when they see us living in unity.

How are we doing with this?

This does not mean that we will agree on everything. It does mean that we are family. We should choose to love and respect each other, differences and all.

However you feel about the Christian’s involvement with Halloween is irrelevant. As brothers and sisters in Christ, let us show the world who we are by our love for one another. (John 13:35) And sometimes our love can be most evident when we disagree well.

Grace and peace to you.

2 thoughts on “The Seasonal Buffalo Chip

  1. For some reason we seem to leave Christian love and charity behind when we make comments on the internet. It is not a good place for the world to ‘know we are Christians by our love.’ Civil discourse and cordial disagreement on issues that don’t relate to salvation are fine. Blasting each other isn’t. Thank you for giving voice to this problem!

    Like

Leave a Reply

