I Hope You Don’t Mind

“I hope you don’t mind,

I hope you don’t mind that I put down in words,

How wonderful life is, now you’re in the world.”

Your Song, Elton John

As I looked down into her sweet, soft face, the chorus of this song suddenly had meaning.  I’m not sure where I was or how this particular song came to be playing.  While I’ve long respected Elton John as an incredibly talented musician, he was never one you’d find on my playlist.  All I remember is that profound feeling one gets when art intersects with emotion and becomes personal.  I kissed her fuzzy, dark hair and knew that this was now Her Song.  The one that makes me think of her, that makes my heart feel funny in a full sort of way.

Today she is officially an adult.  It feels strange, knowing that in some indefinable way it all changes from here.  She is the perfect blending of her Daddy and I, but she is so much more than either of us ever dreamed of being.

I find that I cannot put down in words how wonderful life has been since she entered my world.  If I could somehow translate the fullness of my mommy-heart into words, it would fill volumes.  Suffice it to say then, that being her mommy is one of the greatest joys of my life.

 Happy Birthday, my Sweet Pea.  I love you, and even better, I like you.  I can’t wait to see where your passions and talents will take you.  May our Lord Jesus lavish you with blessings as you spread your wings.

(I hope you don’t mind that I tell the world how lucky it is that you’re in it…)

3 thoughts on “I Hope You Don’t Mind

  1. Oh, my friend….I feel your words. Such beautiful poignant words straight from your mama heart. God Bless her and you on this exciting new chapter! ~Blessings~

    Like

  2. Pingback: Eight Months And A Day | Rebeca Jones

Leave a Reply

